Speak No Evil

Speak No Evil

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

"A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."--Gary Shteyngart

"A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."--Larissa MacFarquhar

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer--an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders--and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2018
ISBN: 9780061284922
0061284920
Branch Call Number: FIC IWEA
Characteristics: 214 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
booknrrd
Apr 25, 2018

Harvard-bound, Niru is the son of Nigerian immigrants with high expectations and strict religious values. When they discover that he had plans to meet up with another boy even though he didn't go through with it, it causes a lot of problems for him at home. This tension between Niru and his parents forms the crux of the novel, but there is also his friendship with Meredith, who downloaded the app that led to the meet-up that didn't happen.

This was another 3-1/2 star book for me. There was something that just didn't connect for me. I wanted more of something. I'm sorry that I can't be more specific. I wanted to get deeper into Niru maybe?

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top