The Wife

The Wife

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6



"This year's Gone Girl."--Harlan Coben

His Scandal

Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10--in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look--at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2018
ISBN: 9780062390516
0062390511
9780062844316
Branch Call Number: FIC BURK
Characteristics: 340 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

brookse0518 Jun 22, 2018

Good read

t
tink05
May 11, 2018

Great read that defidently took me where I wasnt expecting it to go

r
rebecca2199
Mar 24, 2018

It had a twist I saw coming.. it read like so many of these modern thrillers that are coming out a dime a dozen.

r
ronandlynda
Feb 26, 2018

Included in Entertainment Weekly's list: Winter's Chilliest New Thrillers

u
USAF1969
Feb 05, 2018

Alafair Burke delivers another good read in THE WIFE. Timely topics of sexual harassment and sexual abuse and timeless topics of family crises, legal wrangling, detective skills, DA-police interactions, with a bit of corporate greed thrown. LOTS of twists and turns, most of which I didn't see coming. Makes for a really great read. That said, I didn't much like the very end of the ending - either it left open a sequel (which would be very hard to pull off in this case because the story at this point is too thin) or someone (publisher, author, agent, whomever) was in a hurry to finish the thing.

d
darladoodles
Jan 28, 2018

Thank you to HarperCollins and Edelwiess for an ARC of this book. There were many moving parts in this story -- sexual harassment, kidnapping, rape accusations/suspicions, family relationships and more. I found the story did not follow expected patterns and there were many surprises along the way. I like that

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top