Inheriting Edith

Inheriting Edith

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat--she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased's eighty-two-year old mother Edith.

Edith has Alzheimer's--or so the doctors tell her--but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza's gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left--like a chaise or strand of pearls--to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow.

Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she's held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2016
ISBN: 9780062378743
Branch Call Number: FIC Fish
Characteristics: 290 pages, 15 pages ; 20 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

CRRL_MegRaymond Feb 07, 2018

Single mom Maggie Sheets inherits a house, but there's a catch. The previous owner's elderly mother still lives there, and isn't about to move.

Dec 31, 2017

No e book

Jan 09, 2017

Life goes on no matter what happens. Inherit a house? No problem, except for Edith. Your daughter is asking where is her Daddy? No problem, except you broke up before you knew you were pregnant. A realistic view of living with someone with Alzheimers while maintaining all the other aspects of your life.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PLYMC

To Top