This Savage Song

This Savage Song

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
Theres no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent-- but he's one of the monsters.
Publisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, c2016
ISBN: 9780062380852
0062380850
Branch Call Number: FIC Schw
Characteristics: xxiii, 427 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 25, 2018

Wow. This was a wild roller coaster of a book. I absolutely loved it! Combining a dark, creepy dystopian world with monsters that come out at night, with characters that have an undeniable connection, This Savage Song was a treat to read. Victoria Schwab managed to create a duo of Kate and August, combining two forces that created a phenomenon, without any hint of romance. It was refreshing and revitalizing for me in terms of YA dystopian. Verity has been torn into two sides, North and South, in which you either pay or fight for protection from the monsters that attack at night. There are the flesh eating Corsai, the bloodthirsty Malchai and the rarest of them all - the soul stealing Sunai. August is a Sunai. He has a mission to go to high school as a junior and collect information on Katherine Harker. But what will happen when the two cannot deviate between the monsters in their head, and the difference between heroes and villains? A book that will keep you on the edge of your seat, recalling all the stories that scared you as a child. I need the next book! Rating 4.5/5
- @jewelreader of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

s
susan_findlay
Sep 22, 2017

Read this for book club, and I very much enjoyed it. I was told I would since I had just shared that dystopian novels were my favourite genre. I don't actually consider this book dystopian because, to me, dystopia is about how human nature and society can go terribly wrong. However unlikely it might be for a given dystopian society to evolve from our current one, I feel like it has to be possible or you're talking fantasy rather than dystopia.

This book has monsters. It's fantasy. It's very good fantasy. Possibly a fantasy/dystopia hybrid.
I'm not one for vampire novels or zombie novels, but I really liked the way that the author used monsters as a thematic device. They quite literally evolved from human weakness. The author regularly calls back to an event called The Phenomenon, about which you learn nothing in this book (other than that it happened). I presume that it was the catalyst for formation of the first monsters, but it looks like we'll have to wait until later books to find out what actually happened (I hope).

I found the main characters nuanced and well-developed. The plot was well-paced, and parts were quite suspenseful. Information is introduced as you need it rather than front-loading with a pile of background. Schwab slowly builds a complex and interesting world that I want to learn more about.

An excellent read, and I look forward to the sequel.

e
ErikaCh
Aug 23, 2017

It's one of those books one find a little bit difficult to get hold of the world creating but will get suck into it . While I feel this book's story is more like a prelude. There are not enough conflicts to reflect how good the world building is. Also the romance between the monster and monster hunter is a little awkward.

h
heavenne
Jul 13, 2017

I didn’t know what the hype was all about until I saw the second book released just recently. Took out this book and in the first day I was half way through. It was addicting and it moved at a fast pace.

The plot itself is very interesting and readable. The action is good and not over the top dramatic. The twist near the end is predictable but what you didn’t see coming is the ending and you’re left with either being blown away or….well there’s no other is there? You’re just straight out blown away.

Definitely recommended for YA readers. I’m off to get the second one. I enjoyed this book immensely.

b
bookycakes
Jul 08, 2017

This is one of those books that starts off slow and you're feeling like nothing is really happening, and then suddenly it's been 400 pages and BOOM the book is over and you can't figure out who got there. Schwab's writing is methodical and beautiful without being flowery, and there's just enough description of this world where monsters are real to immerse you in the story without being bogged down with details. I think the sequel will be so much better, too, because there was a lot of setup in the first book. Now we're getting into the reality of this dangerous world, and I'm excited to see where the twists will take us, just how dark this story is going to get, and if we'll get to that ever-so-distant light at the end of the tunnel. Highly recommended if you like solid books that suck you in with steady action, a multitude of characters, and a premise that feels all too close to possible.

p
pspice
Feb 16, 2017

It is only o.k.. Characters are pretty one-dimensional and their journey not very surprising or exciting. The villains and battles are not that intense or scary. Much better speculative fiction out there. I preferred Schwab's Gathering of Shadows and will read the other two books in that series.

VaughanPLRachelP Jan 17, 2017

I loved the world-building in this - the author drops you into a world at war, between humans and monsters, and lets you figure things out as it goes... and it goes at a breakneck pace. Super creepy too. No romance in this one!

c
candacerberger
Jan 10, 2017

This was my first Victoria Schwab read, so I can't compare it to her other writing. I thought the first half or so of the book was a little slow even if the premise of the book was interesting, but I kept reading to see how it'd turn out. Once it picked up, it really picked up, so I'm happy I kept going! It's a bit of a dark little book, but I really enjoyed it.

k
KimoV
Nov 17, 2016

An intriguing concept. It's a good backdrop for thought-provoking questions about the choices we make and their consequences, what makes you human, and who the real monsters are.

ArapahoeCatherine Nov 01, 2016

I LOVED this new dark fantasy from Schwab! Perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Laini Taylor, or Cassandra Clare! The characters were fascinating and complex and the writing atmospheric. I appreciated that the main characters didn't immediately fall into romance, as they so easily could have. While it was hinted at, they clearly both had much bigger issues to handle. I can't wait for more in this series!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top