A Madness So Discreet

A Madness So Discreet

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
7
2
Rate this:

Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as Asylum and The Diviners as well as television's True Detective and American Horror Story.

Grace Mae is already familiar with madness when family secrets and the bulge in her belly send her to an insane asylum--but it is in the darkness that she finds a new lease on life. When a visiting doctor interested in criminal psychology recognizes Grace's brilliant mind beneath her rage, he recruits her as his assistant. Continuing to operate under the cloak of madness at crime scenes allows her to gather clues from bystanders who believe her less than human. Now comfortable in an ethical asylum, Grace finds friends--and hope. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who will bring her shaky sanity and the demons in her past dangerously close to the surface.

Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2015
ISBN: 9780062320889
0062320882
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
ClosetHobbit
Sep 30, 2017

SPOILER WARNING! Do NOT continue reading if you don't want this book to be spoiled for you.

.................

I liked the concept of this book -- a "mad" girl who escapes a horrible asylum with the help of a doctor, and becomes his assistant in solving murder cases. And it was excellent and well written for most of the book. Where it started to go south was when Grace found and dispatched of the serial killer on her own. Of course the conclusion can only be rapid from that point, but to cram a large part of the story line -- Grace's father's fate -- into the last few pages degraded the quality of writing and plot.

Speaking of the trial, it was improbable that the Senator would be convicted of the murders the serial killer was responsible for when there was little if any evidence (as is repeatedly said by Thornhollow) connecting him to them. So how was the trial was given the go-ahead? It's also ironic that the word of a mad girl turns the tide of the trial to convicting the Senator of the murders when Grace later tells him that nobody would believe someone who was declared insane (as the Senator is by the word of Thornhollow). Next, I'm not entirely happy that the murders of another were pinned on an innocent (in this regard) man. Certainly he was guilty for abuse and rape; with the number of people Grace found that he did it to, that could have resulted in a trial in and of itself.

Another issue the book has is inconsistent morality, which I think the author made a point of as a dilemma with some of her characters, but which also played out in other ways. For e.g., Nell taking "revenge" on her beau by sleeping with and infecting the rest of his male family members with a fatal disease, and the nurse and girls agreeing with her actions; there is no counterpoint to it, even though what Nell did was terrible -- we would react (and rightly so) less favourably if it was a man who did that. Other examples: the serial killer being good in some ways (by treating people for their illnesses for free) but obviously bad in others (murdering and raping women); Grace removing herself emotionally from the situation so she could murder the serial killer, just as her father did when molesting her. I think what bothers me is that the consequences do not match up with the actions of the character, or they didn't understand the consequences when they should have.

Couple last notes. With the content, this book is obviously for an older audience. Second, the way the author left the ending makes me think there could be a follow-up book.

m
mlinard
Jun 17, 2017

Great read! For mature young adults and adults alike. I enjoyed the content and the story. Am looking forward to reading more from this author.

p
PaulaSuzanneLee
May 07, 2017

Loved this book! Does not read like a Young Adult book at all. Content is definitely for older kids. While reading this book, had to look up insane asylums in the 1800's as well as treatment of patients. Interesting and intriguing read.

PinesandPrejudice Jan 19, 2017

This was such a fascinating read. I found the subject matter wonderful, the whole plot line, setting and characters were different and abnormal for YA which was refreshing. It had a dark subject matter and was hard to get into at first but it was honest and interesting and unique. Quite good and worth a read.

AL_LESLEY Nov 23, 2016

I really liked McGinnis' other books and she's a great writer. Her style is great and to read her feels natural, not forced at all like a lot of ya but this book just didn't do it for me. Starting off dark harsh and brutal yet compelling, this story becomes one of generic crime solving and convenient revenge. The characters are great though, especially string which is why this book gets 3 stars.

CMLReads_Kristin May 20, 2016

I loved SOOOOO many things about this book: the historical description of women's issues and insane asylums; the strong, complex, and flawed characters; and the murder mystery. Very well done...and with an author's note about basis for the Ohio asylum in which the story was set. Good on audio.

a
AuntieAnne
Jan 15, 2016

Excellent, excellent book. I loved it so much that I am buying the book to add to my permanent library. A real eye-opener as to how "mental health issues" were once dealt with.

Age

Add Age Suitability

m
mlinard
Jun 17, 2017

mlinard thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

m
mauve_swan_39
May 28, 2017

mauve_swan_39 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top