Try Not to Breathe

Try Not to Breathe

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
15
2
Rate this:
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut--an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Amy Stevenson, who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralyzed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from her attempt to uncover the unspeakable truth, Alex realizes she's not just chasing a story--she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

Praise for Try Not to Breathe

"A brilliant, beautifully written thriller." --Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors

"A razor-sharp plot and wonderfully complex characters . . . Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense." -- New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen

"A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths." -- New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight

"Engrossing . . . Seddon's storytelling skills are strong. . . . The world she's constructed is fascinating and slightly dark." -- Kirkus Reviews
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, c2016
ISBN: 9781101885864
1101885866
Branch Call Number: FIC Sedd
Characteristics: 352 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
patryan22401
Jul 08, 2017

What a disappointment!!
Poor characters, boring & unrealistic plot...who believes a person can be in a coma for 15 years???

e
Einer2
Jul 01, 2017

One of those books that you just don't want to put down. Will definitely look for more of her work.

t
tkaczyke
Jun 18, 2017

I was so disappointed in this book. The trial consisted of less than two pages and was so far from reality that it was difficult to finish the book.

s
SJM7323
Jun 09, 2017

This was a good book! Easy to read and fast paced. I finished it in just a couple of days (probably would have had it done in 1 day if I would have had more time). I enjoyed the fact that I was convinced that I knew who the "bad guy" was but was wrong after all! I love books that make you think you know what's going on but flip on you at the end!

c
ccielusn
May 07, 2017

What a great read! Became such a page turner as you became more invested. Will be looking out for more books from the author.

r
Rubicat
Mar 30, 2017

Very enjoyable - I'll be looking for more of this author's mysteries and novels

g
gisdennie
Feb 15, 2017

Excellent story, can't wait to read more of Holly Seddon!

s
samntha
Feb 06, 2017

Looking forward to her next book. Kept me interested from first page to last.

ChristchurchLib Jan 08, 2017

Amy Stevenson has been in a coma for 15 years, ever since she was beaten and left for dead by an unknown assailant. Alex Dale is an alcoholic who has lost both her journalism career and her marriage, and, like the equally desperate protagonist in The Girl on the Train, feels that solving this tragic case will allow her to reclaim her life. Told from multiple perspectives in both 2010 and in the days leading up to Amy's attack in 1995, Try Not to Breathe is both a grim portrait of a failing, fragile alcoholic and a suspenseful search for justice.

2
21221018293347
Dec 09, 2016

Very good book, well written. Three main characters: Alex, the journalist investigating the cold case of the rape and assault of 15 year old Amy; Amy, who has been in hospital for 15 years in a coma after the assault; and Jacob, the boy friend of Amy during the time she was assaulted. As other characters are introduced and investigated by Alex, layers of the past are revealed. Very well written, engaging. And as others have said, put aside a good period of time to get into the book. I like short chapters, which this book has lots of, short glimpses into a persons thoughts, or an event.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“Time is not a good healer. Time is a blank page on which the left behind scribble their regrets and their confessions.”

k
KaseyNB
Apr 13, 2017

“When I woke up this time, the dream was still hanging around me, caught in my sheets and my hair.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top