The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

The Incredible Story of A Child Raised by Monkeys

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
The unbelievable true story of a young girl who is abandoned in the Colombian jungle and finds asylum in the most unlikely of places--with a troop of capuchin monkeys​

In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: she ate what they ate and copied their actions, and little by little, learned to fend for herself.

So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; she lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any real sense of being human, replacing the structure of human society with the social mores of her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten, she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure wasn't over yet . . .

In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God , this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild and the brutality of the streets to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Books, ©2013
ISBN: 9781453298572
1453298576
9781480418998
1480418994
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From Library Staff

This book has Arya Stark written all over it.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

It’s one of those books that you may wish you haven’t started reading (it can be painful to read some parts of this book), but then, all of a sudden- you can’t let go of it. It’s suspensefully captivating.

The book, written by Marina Chapman, is based on a true survival story of Marina, who was kidnapped at the age of 5, and abandoned in the jungles of Colombia. Miraculously, Marina lived on and found a ‘family’ in a troop of monkeys that she befriended. One day, everything changes and Marina returns back to civilization, yet she faces a lot of trials and great misfortunes.

Regardless of all the challenges depicted in the book, there is always optimism and something good invisibly present at all times. The beauty of this narrative is in how strong the main character turns out to be and although Marina is quite agnostic, there is a powerful presence of faith and hope throughout her life’s journey. It’s a story of not giving up, discovering the world, and building oneself from scratch. The novel reads with ease and simplicity; author’s choice of diction creates a vivid picture out of everything. (Submitted by Mariya)

i
IV27HUjg
Jul 21, 2017

Not rated. I'm can imagine the portrayal of how street kids live is accurate, they learn survival tactics. Trafficking bodies continues today. This ended up being one very fortunate child.

monini Mar 31, 2017

This story is so amazing and inspiring....couldn't put it down. I hope the author will write a sequel.

k
ktwv
Feb 01, 2017

This is a good book, such an interesting story. I only heard about it after an interview on CBC.

m
Marge2015
Apr 14, 2016

One of the better books I've read in a long time. I don't often pick up biographies but this was well worth it. The main character is memorable and inspiring, clean and straight forward, def recommend this to anyone from 12 up.

d2013 Aug 25, 2014

Very descriptive and an incredible true story! I loved how she, through imitation, learned how to feed herself, make herself a soft bed with moss and how Granpa Capuchin saved her from death. How she learned to make paint and jewelry and decorate her tree trunk. How she survived is a miracle!

s
sharonlesliesmith
Aug 17, 2014

Absolutely captures your attention as you follow an incredible and often harrowing journey of a young girl with insights into the reality of survival, street life and issues of rural and big city South America which.are as mind boggling as they are real. I could not put it down.

spanishbarrie Aug 11, 2013

This story is unbelievable but credibly written. The ghost writer used the thorough research of the credited author's daughter. It is an easy read but well written where you can visualize the events being described. It does make you feel a range of emotions including a certain hate for our species who treat their fellow human being with such distain. This is a story you'll definitely read in a day or two as you don't want to put the book down.

r
Raun
Jul 24, 2013

Agree w ef434 - incredible yet one believes. A great read but not without lots of sad parts. Between "us" and the monkeys, whose side would you want to be on ? very thought provoking.

ktnv Jul 06, 2013

After seeing an interview with Marina and her daughter I just had to read this book. Once I started I couldn't put it down; I read it all in one day. Loved it.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top