The Truth About Us

The Truth About Us

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:

A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult."- Booklist

The truth is that Jess knows she screwed up.
She's made mistakes, betrayed her best friend, and now she's paying for it. Her dad is making her spend the whole summer volunteering at the local soup kitchen.

The truth is she wishes she was the care-free party-girl everyone thinks she is.
She pretends it's all fine. That her "perfect" family is fine. But it's not. And no one notices the lie...until she meets Flynn. He's the only one who really sees her. The only one who listens.

The truth is that Jess is falling apart - and no one seems to care.
But Flynn is the definition of "the wrong side of the tracks." When Jess's parents look at him they only see the differences-not how much they need each other. They don't get that the person who shouldn't fit in your world... might just be the one to make you feel like you belong.

Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire, 2015
ISBN: 9781402278020
1402278020
9781336096332
1336096330
9781402278013
1402278012
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

This is so much better than what I thought this book was; a cliché and boring contemporary. But it wasn’t. I loved how Jess and Flynn had a real relationship, not the unrealistic one where the girl and the boy “falls” for each other because of their appearances. They developed a friendship first and then overcame their differences. So many topics were written about in this book. Including the unequal distribution of wealth in society, as well as broken or abusive families. I admire Janet Gurtler for writing about these hard-to-tackle topics. Jess changed through the course of this book. She has such a likable personality that seemed real. She has her flaws, her issues and I feel like she could actually exist in real life. I loved her relationship with Wilf; the funny conversations and the way they needed each other as a grandpa and granddaughter. It was really sad to see Wilf go; this book is one of the few books that actually made me feel for the characters. What Wilf had done for Flynn and his family , as well as the letter he left for Jess, they all made me so emotional and made me love him even more. I also really liked the way Jess came back to the real her. I’m glad that she finally made up with Penny and Allie, as well as her mom. She got rid of bad influences and is being her true self again. Overall, I really liked this book because of the realistic characters, the mention of a variety of different issues in society, as well as the non-superficial relationship of Jess and Flynn. If you’re a fan of Huntely Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins or Kasie West, definitely check out this book.
(Reviewed by Angela for the Cloverdale Library Teen Book Review Project)

Age

Add Age Suitability

o
olive_cat_280
Jul 29, 2016

olive_cat_280 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top