Since You've Been Gone

Since You've Been Gone

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
29
8
3
 …
Quiet Emily's sociable and daring best friend, Sloane, has disappeared leaving nothing but a random list of bizarre tasks for her to complete, but with unexpected help from popular classmate Frank Porter, Emily gives them a try.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster BFYR, c2014
ISBN: 9781442435001
1442435003
Branch Call Number: FIC Mats
Characteristics: 449 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
LizzieJoy
Sep 23, 2019

A beautiful story of friendship, family and fun. The perfect summer read!

p
penelopegomez
Sep 04, 2019

I loved this novel. If you want just a feel good, summer contemporary read, then this is the book for you. Basically this book is about a shy girl named Emily. Emily is glued to the hip to her best friend Sloane. Sloane is the popular, and outgoing type and Emily has always just been along for the ride. When Sloane disappears for the summer leaving Emily with nothing but a Summer to do list, Emily is SHOOK! How is she supposed to accomplish a list of such epic proportions without her life vest, Sloane there to navigate. Never the less Emily is determined not to underestimate herself and cross off everything on Sloane's to do list. Along the way Emily makes some new friends, who are beyond supportive and just as determined in helping Emily succeed. This book just melted my little heart, I mean what a wonderful story on friendship, like everything about this book is just SQUAD goals, and left me feeling inspired to try and cross off some of the things on Sloane's to do list as well. This was just an all around fun read and the thing I loved most was that the author included a summer music playlist, that you can actually look up and listen along to as you read. I just love when authors add personal touches like that to a novel.

h
hannahvig
Jul 27, 2019

one of my all time favorites. the kind of book that makes you want to face your fears, leave your comfort zone, and most of all, hug your best friend. one of the best summer reads out there

h
hsunseri
May 18, 2019

4.15

OPL_KrisC Sep 04, 2018

This book is essentially a journey about a teen finding herself and learning who she really is with or without her best friend. For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Gayle Forman.

a
AliciaMochi
Jan 06, 2018

Characters 101:

SLOANE- quirky, adventurous, and strange. she mysteriously disappears without any notice or
trace, leaving her best friend Emily completely bewildered
EMILY- as Sloane's best friend, she is naturally concerned when Sloane doesn't turn up for
days on end. when she finds the list that Sloane leaves for her, she finds the inspiration
to complete the list by the end of the summer in hopes of Sloane's return
FRANK- the new and charming boy that Emily encounters over the summer while on one of
her runs. Frank convinces Emily to 'teach him' how to run.
COLLINS- the socially awkward and quirky friend of Frank. He hangs out with the group and is
always the humorous addition to every situation (especially skinny dipping)
DAWN- the pizza place employee that is kind, caring, and supportive of Emily.

d
doggylover2004
Jul 13, 2017

Love Morgan's book. Just read the Unexpected Everything.

b
belleisabelle
Apr 09, 2017

this book is so good! i totally recommend to anyone looking for an awesome entertaining book.

ArapahoeKati Feb 07, 2017

Love Morgan Matson! Her characters are believable and well-written.

r
rebekahpie
Sep 27, 2016

loved the book. but I cant really call it a YA book. If your looking for a quick read then this is the book for you. it took me about 2h to finish. other than that It made me cringe and laugh so... pretty good.XD

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
AliciaMochi
Jan 06, 2018

AliciaMochi thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

v
violet_dog_7453
May 16, 2017

violet_dog_7453 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

b
belleisabelle
Apr 09, 2017

belleisabelle thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 27

Janina_13 Aug 12, 2014

Janina_13 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

pink_penguin_230 Aug 04, 2014

pink_penguin_230 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Bertinajoy Jul 21, 2014

Bertinajoy thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

s
stepha89
Jun 14, 2014

stepha89 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

g
Gigi_22
Jun 11, 2014

Gigi_22 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
v
ValeriePatulot
Jul 30, 2015

“He looked right at me as he gave me a half smile. "You're the brightest thing in the room", he said. He lifted his hand from my waist, and slowly, carefully brushed a stray lock of hair from my cheek. "You shine".

Janina_13 Aug 12, 2014

"There was that tension between us again, but it wasn't the shimmering, angry kind that had been there before. This felt like the way you get nervous right before something exciting happens - the moment when you're balanced on the top of the roller coaster, the hush before the surprise party, the second after the diving board but before the water, when you can close your eyes and imagine, just for a second that you are flying. The feeling that good things are coming, almost here, any moment now."

g
Gigi_22
Jun 11, 2014

“I somehow knew that the particulars didn't matter. She was my heart, she was half of me, and nothing, certainly not a few measly hundred miles, was ever going to change that.”

Notices

Add Notices
b
belleisabelle
Apr 09, 2017

Other: there is a scene where the enter a pub with fake id and lots of underage drinking

s
stepha89
Jun 14, 2014

Other: There are a few instances of underage drinking and one skinny dipping scene, but none of these are explicit.

Summary

Add a Summary
JCLEmmaF May 26, 2014

Emily's best friend has disappeared, leaving behind a to-do list for her to accomplish. The list forces Emily out of her comfort zone, from being shy and awkward to becoming more confident and playful. It's not about being a rebel- it's about trying new things, making new friends, and discovering where the little things can take you. It's about not simple existing as someone's sidekick, it's about living.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top