Unremarried Widow

Unremarried Widow

A Memoir

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of The Year of Magical Thinking and What Remains , this breathtaking memoir by a young Army widow shares her heartbreaking, candid story about recovering from her husband's death.

In this powerful memoir, a young woman loses her husband twenty years after her own mother was widowed, and overcomes two generations of tragedy to discover that both hope and love endure.

Artis Henderson was a free-spirited young woman with dreams of traveling the world and one day becoming a writer. Marrying a conservative Texan soldier and becoming an Army wife was never part of her plan, but when she met Miles, Artis threw caution to the wind and moved with him to a series of Army bases in dusty southern towns, far from the exotic future of her dreams. If this was true love, she was ready to embrace it.

But when Miles was training and Artis was left alone, her feelings of isolation and anxiety competed with the warmth and unconditional acceptance she'd found with Miles. She made few friends among the other Army wives. In some ways these were the only women who could truly empathize with her lonely, often fearful existence-- yet they kept their distance, perhaps sensing the great potential for heartbreak among their number.

It did not take long for a wife's worst fears to come true. On November 6, 2006, the Apache helicopter carrying Miles crashed in Iraq, leaving twenty-six-year-old Artis--in official military terms--an "unremarried widow." A role, she later realized, that her mother had been preparing her for for most of her life.

In this memoir Artis recounts not only the unlikely love story she shared with Miles and her unfathomable recovery in the wake of his death-- from the dark hours following the military notification to the first fumbling attempts at new love--but also reveals how Miles's death mirrored her father's death in a plane crash, which Artis survived when she was five years old and which left her own mother a young widow.

In impeccable prose, Artis chronicles the years bookended by the loss of these men--each of whom she knew for only a short time but who had a profound impact on her life and on the woman she has become.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, c2013
ISBN: 9781451649284
Branch Call Number: B H3831a8
Characteristics: 240 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mprimom
May 05, 2014

What a great book, a must read. Military's life is not easy - what they have to face and accept could be too much to take and often devastating...

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top