Bad Wolf

Bad Wolf

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
"On a hot June day the body of a sixteen-year-old girl washes up on a river bank outside of Frankfurt. She has been brutally murdered, but no one comes forward with any information as to her identity. Even weeks later, the local police have not been able to find out who she is. Then a new case comes in: A popular TV reporter is attacked, raped, and locked in the trunk of her own car. She survives, barely, and is able to supply certain hints to the police, having to do with her recent investigations into a child welfare organization and the potenial uncovering of a child pornography ring with members from the highest echelon of society. As the two cases collide, Inspectors Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein dig deep into the past and underneath the veneer of bourgeois society to come up against a terrible secret that is about to impact their personal lives as well. In Nele Neuhaus's second U.S. publication of her enormously popular series, tensions run high and a complex and unpredictable plot propels her characters forward at breakneck speed"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, c2013
ISBN: 9781250043993
1250043999
Branch Call Number: FIC Neuh
Characteristics: 404 pages ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Murray, Steven T.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maipenrai
Nov 06, 2016

BOOK 6 IN THE Pia Kirchhoff and Oliver von Bodenstein series

d
DonnaMeness
Jul 19, 2016

A story that explores the worldwide business of childhood sexual slavery.

a
Adelheid
Nov 09, 2014

I love this book, well written and hard to put down,

a
AuntMaryE
Jun 25, 2014

A good Scandinavian read!

e
emerge
Dec 01, 2013

My gosh, where to begin? This is one of the most compelling, affecting novels I've read & it's characters & complex plot continue to reside in my head. This is the 6th in Neuhaus' Taunus series featuring DS Pai Kirchhoff & her boss Chief DS Oliver von Bodenstein of the Kripo Criminal Police in a district of Frankfurt.
It all begins when some drunk teens stumble over the body of a young woman lying in shallow water. When Pia & her crew arrive, they are horrified by her wounds. Dr. Henning Kirchhoff's (Pia's ex) autopsy reveals a multitude of old injuries caused by years of abuse. It brings to mind an unsolved case from 9 years ago of another young girl found in similar circumstances. But none of them are prepared for the chain of events that will follow.
In a concurrent side story, we meet Hanna Herzmann, an ambitious & successful TV journalist famous for her Jerry Springer style of interviews. She's recently kicked out husband #4, her miserable, self absorbed daughter is moving on for the summer & worst of all, she's in a ratings slump. Then her therapist summons her to a clandestine meeting with two men, a reformed biker named Bernd & Kilian Rothemund, a disgraced lawyer/convicted child molester. The story they tell her is chilling & unbelievable but may be the scoop of he year.
Meanwhile, Emma (old high school chun of Pia's) is dealing with being hugely pregnant during the hottest summer in memory, an increasingly distant husband & strange, sudden behavioural changes in her young daughter.
There are 5-6 story lines that start independently but it's only as the author begins to skillfully weave them together that we get an idea of the true scope of the plot. The cast of characters is large & well developed. Each has a distinct voice as events unfold & the tension builds.But Neuhaus is a master of misdirection & it's only as Pia uncovers al the secrets & lies that we too learn of the hidden connections & identities. More than once I was shocked to find out what I'd come to believe was completely wrong. There is a mounting sense of dread & while Pia in particular becomes a target, no character will emerge with the life they had before.
This is more than a police procedural. Some of the subject matter is very disturbing & unfortunately, true to life. There are graphic descriptions of assaults involving adults but crimes against children are mostly alluded to & occur off page. Your imagination will take over & you desperately want to see some of these people get what they deserve.
This is a riveting page turner you'll resent having to put down. Yes, it's unsettling but so well written that you're quickly hooked & have to know how it all pans out. By the end, many of the aspects of the case are resolved but not all, leaving us to wonder if some of the characters will pop up in subsequent books. If you enjoy compelling, gritty & complex thrillers, this is for you. For fans of Stieg Larson, Val McDermid, Stuart MacBride & Jo Nesbo.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top