Mr. Churchill's Secretary

Mr. Churchill's Secretary

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20
1
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill's Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge--and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined--and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family's hidden secrets, she'll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin's murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperbacks, c2012
ISBN: 9780553593617
0553593617
Branch Call Number: FIC MacN
Characteristics: 373 p. ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
ceecee Jun 06, 2019

This was a very interesting historical thriller whose main character, Maggie Hope, was an American -raised post graduate female mathematician. Upon moving to England, she was only able to obtain a position as a typist at 10 Downing St under Churchill's administration in 1940 due to her gender. Because of her advanced mathematical abilities Maggie was able to detect an enemy code embedded in an advertisement and ultimately assisted in the war effort. I felt that I was propelled through this entirely captivating read. There were some surprising twists concerning her housemates. The male characters however seemed underdeveloped in this novel, almost inconsequential.

Mer15113 Feb 21, 2019

Very interesting fiction based on historical facts.

s
siftyzod
Sep 25, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. was very easy to follow right from the start, the charactors well displayed and thought out.
this book was very addictive to me i read it in one day ..

m
MWirthJohnson
Aug 10, 2018

Someone told me that I would like this book because I was enjoying the Maisie Dobbs series. I read about a third of this, and then stopped in disgust. I'd been hoping for historical accuracy plus a compelling story, and found neither. Instead I thought it was amateuish and shallow.

k
kimh454
Jun 29, 2018

Didn't like it. Someone posted about small historical errors in this novel. I agree, there are plenty. Transatlantic phone calls is one. They were not as easy to place in the 1940s as Maggie Hope found it to be. Being able to hear the other person on the line was also an issue. I think the reason given why Neville Chamberlain stepped down is also inaccurate, but not sure. And the shifts between characters felt forced and clumsy. And why was it that Maggie was so sure that the U.S. would enter the war? Unless she was psychic, she wouldn't have had any idea whatsoever.

m
Mary Donovan
Jun 04, 2018

Series of Maggie hope mysteries - this is the first

JessicaGma Mar 07, 2018

A fun romp with a heck of a lot of characters that gets a bit confusing at times, this is a solid historic murder mystery, or as I have heard it phrased, "a story set in wartime where people have romantical problems". Maggie Hope is a math genius who gets to work for Churchill, but ends up doing much more. If you like Masie Dobbs, or a Rhys Bowen mystery, you'll like this.

a
augsburgerin
Mar 26, 2016

A solid historical mystery set in London during WWII. The setting is believable and the plot is exciting enough to keep the reader engaged. A word of warning: any German used in the story must have come from Google Translate or something worse and makes no sense whatsoever.

c
col2862
Nov 11, 2014

Disappointing with very many small historical errors, including easy Trans-Atlantic phone calls!
Overall poorly done

s
Shelley51
Mar 10, 2014

Great first book in a series. Loved the history and the characters.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top