Jane and Prudence

Jane and Prudence

Book
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
Middle-aged Jane is the well-intentioned but far from perfect clergyman's wife and mother. Prudence, who at 29 is teetering at the edge of spinsterhood, is an attractive, educated working girl. The two best friends share memories of their carefree days at Oxford, leisurely lunches, and gossip, but their ultimate goal is to find a suitable mate for Prudence.
Publisher: New York : Dutton, c1981
ISBN: 9780525136408
0525136401
Branch Call Number: FIC P99453ja
Characteristics: 222 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ser_library Dec 06, 2017

enjoyable for occasional wit and drollness, but I did snooze in the middle

I enjoyed reading this book as it is a typical Pym social commentary on post WWII life in small town England. Jane has one foot in the feminist camp and one in the tradition of vicar's wife and sometimes matchmaker. Prudence has the benefit of being on the cusp of 60's free love but is still not completely comfortable with being unmarried for the rest of her life, although she has models of this independent, modern spinsterhood in her social circle. Male characters are weak, for the most part, but they are foils for the characters of Jane and Prudence and I don't see this as a failing in Pym's usual brilliant writing.

e
Eosos
Apr 01, 2015

I'm not quite sure what I was expecting when I picked up this book. Something more "classic" maybe and something more sarcastic or witty. Whatever it was, what I got was a sweet, gentle story of a middle aged vicars wife and her single friend. The social commentary is mellow and while a good story in a comforting way, it wasn't really my cup of tea.

WVMLStaffPicks Feb 01, 2015

Jane is married to the newly appointed vicar in an English village and her London friend Prudence falls for the town roué. Pym has a seemingly effortless ability to deliver witty observations in a delightful, deadpan style. Written in the 50's this novel is still fresh, funny, true to life and a balm for the modern soul.

jeanner222 Jan 31, 2013

Another fine offering in the vein of Excellent Women, Jane and Prudence is the story of two friends with very different lives. They met when Jane was Prudence’s tutor in college; Jane now wants to find a husband for Prudence.

Both women are smart, but they have vastly different experiences with the opposite sex. Jane is married to a clergyman and bored senseless; Prudence is single and has carried on a series of love affairs.

When Jane tries her hand at matchmaking, the village’s handsome widower becomes her target. Village life then becomes the primary focus of the novel (along with dating).

Delightful.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at PLYMC

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top